My Reads – Folk Stories

Posted: January 1, 2012 in Books

Monkey: A Folk Novel of ChinaMonkey: A Folk Novel of China by Wu Cheng’en
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A pretty complete abridged version of The Journey To The West. Starting with the life of Sun Wukong (AKA “aware of emptiness, Son Goku, Monkey). Almost half of the book is about how he gained all his powers, raising havoc in heaven then getting trapped by Buddha. Then the other half is about him assisting the Monk on his journey to the west.

I gave it three stars, although it was a good story (one i felt like a “must read”). There were just too many things that didn’t make sense.
The way the characters react to things and bother with things just seemed unnatural, in a sense, especially for how “enlightened”, wise, old, religious and strong they (some of them) were.

Peer Gynt Peer Gynt by Henrik Ibsen
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A classic Norwegian tale including some trolls and other stuff from Norse Mythology. I liked the story but I realized while reading this book that I’m not a big fan of poetry.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

